Hepworth Prize for Sculpture

The Hepworth Wakefield is delighted to announce Helen Marten as the winner of the inaugural Hepworth Prize for Sculpture.

The announcement was made at a special awards ceremony and dinner which took place on the 17th of November in The Calder.

The event was hosted by the BBC’s William Gompertz, with the award being presented by Christopher Bailey, Burberry’s Chief Creative and Chief Executive Officer.

The dinner was a brilliant platform for Wakefield, celebrating the unique artistic heritage of the region, drawing high profile figures from the art world, media, television and corporate sector, including artists Richard Wentworth and Conrad Shawcross; designer Nicole Farhi, playwright and director David Hare, broadcasters Janet Street Porter and Alastair Sooke.hepworth-prize-for-sculpture-002

The awards ceremony was featured live on BBC Radio 4 Front Row and has received lots of fantastic press including The Guardian, FT, The Times, Look North and the Yorkshire Post.

Below is a short video compilation of the evening.

Watch here

The Prize was generously supported by THW trustees’ Linda Bennett, David Liddiment and David Roberts and sponsored by Mtec and Litestructures.

The exhibition continues until the 19th of February, and you can still cast your vote for the People’s Choice Award.

. . . . .